457 sponsorship and learning Auslan…

It’s been a while since my last post and there’s quite a lot to tell you about..
It’s all been going off over here the last couple of weeks.

Firstly, my boss has lodged the application to sponsor me and keep me here in Australia. It’s the first step in a long, arduous process but its happening! If the application my boss has lodged is granted I’ll then be invited to actually apply for the visa… very expensive and time consuming but well worth it in my opinion.

Secondly, last Wednesday was the first week of an Auslan, sign language course I’ve signed up to. Tonight was the second of the 12 week course.
I’m loving it!
It’s a challenge but really rewarding and alot of fun.

All this came about because of the holiday i had up in Byron Bay (I’ve told you about it in an earlier post).
I was introduced to a couple of really cool guys, both deaf.
That was the first time I’ve been in a social situation with two non-hearing people.
I’m very aware of how I’m perceived by the people I meet and meeting those guys, I found myself not able to communicate the way I would with any other friends or people I meet.
Those moments of awkward silence. Trying not to talk to the guys like they’re idiots, but having to slow my speech and use obvious generic body language and gestures. 
I didn’t like the feeling i had, not being able to convey myself and communicate in “my voice”. In that moment, I decided that when i got back to Melbourne I was going to enrol in an Auslan course, and I did!.

Watching the two deaf guys talk to each other in full speed sign is pretty amazing!.
To be fluent in sign will probably take a lifetime, so I’m making a start..

Anyway, it’s all good over here, I’m happy and well and I’m loving the Australian life..

My heart, always with the ones I love in England!
And last but not least,
Big up my little sister!! 29 now! Happy birthday! You’re a beauty and I Love ya.

Til the next post..

Peace.
X